Dwarf Fortress Diary: Udil goes beserk

When we last saw the dwarves, they were building workshops and smoothing the walls and floors of the dining rooms. The plan today is to craete a regular source of food. The best way to do this is to create a farm. Farms can be built above or below ground; we’ll be building one below ground because it’ll let us keep our dwarves underground forever it’s much safer.

How the farm began

The first thing to do is make some soil, as food won’t grow on stone. Some locations will have soil underground, but you can create soil areas yourself by running water over a stone surface. Now this might sound simple, and to someone who knows what they’re doing in Dwarf Fortress, it would be. But for me it’s a little more tricky.

After finding the water source, mining out a farming area, and constructing a floodgate, I realise that there is a much larger water source below the one I have hooked up to my farming area. So of course I can’t use the inferior water source anymore. I go through the same process once again… mine a farming area, channel the water, and build a floodgate. This is all going well, so I connect a lever to the floodgate and let the water in. The farming area floods, but not completely. I realise that if I remove some stone blocks from the water source, I can get more water to flow over my farm.

[SCM]actwin,0,0,0,0;Dwarf FortressDwarf Fortress11/12/2012 , 19:38:58

A Brave Miner

As soon as I had designated the block as an area to be mined, I realised that I may have been slightly foolish. As I resumed the game, Domas Morulirtir the miner came running, keen to mine away the offending block. He began to wade through the water, but presumably it was too strong, as he soon gave up and went back to the meeting area.

[SCM]actwin,0,0,0,0;Dwarf FortressDwarf Fortress11/12/2012 , 19:54:54

So it was that I learned to live with a slightly smaller flow of water. It turned out that there was enough water to flood the farm after all.

[SCM]actwin,0,0,0,0;Dwarf FortressDwarf Fortress11/12/2012 , 20:26:19

Setting up the defences

To make this fortress (and series) last I need to setup a system of defences. The first thing to do is build a drawbridge which can be closed in an emergency. This is easily done with all the spare rock I have lying around from the mining. I’ve set the lever up in the meeting area so that there should be at least one dwarf able to switch the lever at all times.

Bed Building

Amongst all this farming and bridge building, there are a great deal of dwarves sleeping on the floors, in the store rooms, and just about anywhere elses they can lay their hairy heads. Dwarves prefer to sleep on beds, so it’s time to mine out some bedrooms. Here’s the layout I’ve chosen:

[SCM]actwin,0,0,0,0;Dwarf FortressDwarf Fortress11/12/2012 , 23:21:50

People who know about this game would choose to layout their rooms differently… but people who know about the game wouldn’t choose the wrong kind of crop and leave his dwarves starving (I chose to try and plant Dimple Cups instead oof Plump Helmets… rookie mistake).

Udil misses his true calling

The bedroom building was running smoothly… when everyone stopped. I had recieved an alert. Udil Tatloshast had gone berserk. I imagine that I was so busy with my bedroom and farm building that I hadn’t realised that he was on the brink of insanity. It might be because he was a merchant and I have neglected to build a trading post (because I don’t understand trading). Udil was left unable to trade, unable to fulfill his true calling.

[SCM]actwin,0,0,0,0;Dwarf Fortress<br /><br /><br /> Dwarf Fortress<br /><br /><br /> 11/12/2012 , 20:41:45

I zoomed to the location to find Udil’s corpse lying on the floor surrounded by blood. Looking at the reports, I can see that he died fighting with a merchant. I imagine Udil was tipped over the brink of insanity when, being denied the job he desired, he saw the merchants passing through without stopping. Filled with jealous rage, Udil struck out at those he envied. Unfortunately for Udil, he was no more of a fighter than he was a merchant.

Leave a Reply

